St. Patrick's Primary School

St. Patrick's Primary School

AGHAGALLON - Growing and Learning Together



St. Patrick’s delivers the Northern Ireland Curriculum which aims to empower the children to develop their potential and to make informed and responsible choices and decisions throughout their lives.

Central to the curriculum are the seven areas of learning, where subjects are now grouped.

  • Language and Literacy
  • Mathematics and Numeracy
  • The World Around Us
  • Physical Development / Education
  • Religious Education
  • Personal Development and Mutual Understanding
  • The Arts

The objectives of the curriculum are to develop the child as an individual, as a contributor to society and as a contributor to the economy and the environment. It is therefore more skills based, covering thinking skills and personal capabilities which include:

  • Managing information
  • Being creative
  • Thinking, problem solving and decision making
  • Working with others
  • Self-management


The formally assessed aspects will be:

  • Communication
  • Using Mathematics
  • Using ICT

As well as assessing what has been learned, there will be an emphasis on continual assessment designed to help inform the learning process and help teachers plan to meet the individual learning needs of the children.

Assessment data will be used to identify areas of underachievement at whole school, class and individual level. Procedures will then be planned to address these issues.

We in St. Patrick’s are committed to the concept of life long learning and to the provision of quality education. Therefore the school curriculum and its delivery will be kept constantly under review.